Women in Nanoscience


Women in Nano Blog

Five nanoscience women elected to be MRS Fellows

Posted on March 11, 2014 at 4:15 PM

Five exceptional women in nanoscience were elected to be 2014 Fellows of the Materials Research Society, among a total of 22 new fellows. MRS Fellowship recognizes scientists and engineers who have made consistent and outstanding contributions to the advancement of materials research. 


The five women elected are: Profs. Joanna Aizenberg (Harvard), Anna C. Balazs (U. Pitt.), Zhenan Bao (Stanford), Susanne Stemmer (UC Santa Barbara), and Julia R.Weertman (Northwestern). 


Each of these five women has contributed to the advancement of materials research at a different frontier between nanoscience and chemistry, biology, physics, and engineering: Prof. Aizenberg has pioneered experiments to understand the fundamentals of biological materials and the designs and assembly of biomimetic architectures with controlled wetting, optical and mechanical responses. Prof. Balazs has pioneered the development of novel computation models to predict materials behavior ranging from nanocomposites to self-healing materials to oscillating gels. Prof. Bao has made groundbreaking achievements in organic semiconductor materials chemistry, from molecular design to polymer synthesis, to crystallization and patterning, even to artificial skin. Prof. Stemmer has made outstanding contributions to quantitative scanning transmission electron microscopy, the development of new dielectrics and the science of oxide heterostructures. Prof. Weertman has pioneered ground-breaking work on dislocations, fatigue, small-angle x-ray diffraction and nanostructured materials. 


Congratulations to these accomplished 2014 MRS fellows!


Categories: WINnews

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In