Women in Nanoscience


Women in Nano Blog

Sharon Glotzer elected to National Academy of Sciences

Posted on May 2, 2014 at 7:30 PM

Prof. Sharon Glotzer, the Stuart W. Churchill collegiate Professor of Chemical Engineering, U. Michigan, was elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), announced on April 29th, 2014


(Caption: Joshua Anderson (left) and Sharon Glotzer (right), members of The Glotzer Group in the Laboratory for Computational Nanoscience & Soft Matter, discuss their new mathematical exploration into the space of filling solutions.)

Prof. Glotzer investigates the principles that allow molecules, particles and nanostructures to self-assemble using high- performance computing, algorithm development, and statistical mechanics. Her research group collaborates with experimental groups at a number of different institutions, and provides computational and theoretical guidance to optimize the experimental process to find engineering pathways to make self-assembling structures. For example, a recent publication includes the study of packing efficiency as a function of shape, published in Physics Review X, and  highlighted in the media at Physicsworld.com


(Caption: Stuart W. Churchill Collegiate Professor of Chemical Engineering Sharon Glotzer speaks to University of Michigan graduate students on Graduate Education Welcome Day at Stamps Auditorium.)

Glotzer is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Physical Society. She was a National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellow for the Department of Defense in 2009-2014. A fuller profile can be find in University of Michigan Engineering website


(Caption: Pablo Damasceno, Sharon Glotzer, and Michael Engel - CHE - MSE.)

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a non-profit society of international distinguished scholars which was established by an Act of Congress, signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. Members to NAS are elected annually by peer reviews. Membership represents outstanding contributions to research and is considered to be one of the highest honors that scientists can receive. Each year, a maximum of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates are elected. 

(Photo credits: Provided by and used with permission from Prof. Glotzer, Optimal Filling of Shapes: credit to Joseph Xu, Michigan Engineering Communications & Marketing, Speech and Group: Laura Rudich, Michigan Engineering).


Categories: WINnews

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In