Women in Nanoscience


Women in Nano Blog

Cherry Murray nominated to direct the Department of Energy's office of science

Posted on August 28, 2015 at 4:35 PM

Prof. Cherry Murray, the Benjamin Peirce Professor of Technology and Public Policy and Professor of Physics at Harvard University was nominated by President Obama on August 5th to serve as the director of the Department of Energy (DOE)'s office of science. The nomination is currently awaiting senate confirmation. DOE's office of science is the largest federal organization that sponsors basic research in the physical sciences with an annual budget of approximately $5 billion.


Prof. Murray's research background lies in nanophotonics, soft condensed matter, and surface and interface sciences. She has held a number of key leadership positions, including the President of American Physical Society, the principal associate director for science and technology at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory and, most recently, the Dean of Harvard University's Paulson School (SEAS). She was elected to the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the National Academy of Engineering. In 2014, she received the National Medal of Technology and Innovation at the White House, which was featured by WIN here.

- Written by Eugene Choi, Edited by Paulette Clancy

(Photo credit: Eliza Grinnell, Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences).

Categories: WINnews

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In